Unlock Your Mind

This is my first task in the Writing 101 Challenge and I am supposed to write about anything for 20 minutes. Just let my thoughts in my head be put down on paper. Well, when I first thought about writing this, it sounded easy, I could just put words on paper, but as I started to think more about this, I was scared to do this. What if I say something I will regret? What if my words are in the right order, I am not a writer, far from it. I never got “A’s” in English class, both in high school or college. It was embarrassing especially when you are in college and that is what you are supposed to know. But oh, do I dream of the day when I can write like some of these people whose words just flow and make sense and just is. And then when they read mine, what critiquing will I face, how embarrassing is that? I know that I am not the only one who has this problem, issue or fear…whatever you want to call it. So I am taking this big leap of faith, starting my own blogging website that will have this Writing 101 and Blogging 101 on it but also have some other posts that are impromptu things. I like taking pictures that’s what you will see a lot. I like to share those which you could say I get that from my mother. But what will I write about, I don’t know. I know my mind is creative but that side kind of stays in my head, rarely gets out, and to think I went to school for Graphic Design. That’s why I am taking this challenge. I thought what better way to learn about writing is to do it. I like that quote: “The secret of getting ahead is getting started” ~ Agatha Christie. Well it’s almost the same thing. If I keep dreaming about writing and hoping that I will finally one day learn to write good and express myself (which I need to work on) then I will never do it! It will just be a thought, a fantasy. But if I get off my butt and actually put effort into it, then I can say it instead of think it. And you know what; it feels pretty good doing it to! After getting my 20 minutes in here of just “free writing” I have a little more confidence that I can do this. I am capable of learning this and trying to master it. Please feel free to leave comments below, but please be nice. This is my first time doing something like this. Thanks so very much.

Leave a Reply

