1st Verse – Tao Te Ching

The Tao that can be told is not the eternal Tao. The name that can be named is not the eternal name.

The Tao is both named and nameless. As nameless it is the origin of all things; as named it is the Mother of 10,000 things.

Ever desireless, one can see the mystery; ever desiring, one sees only the manifestations. And the mystery itself is the doorway to all understanding.

~ Change Your Thoughts, Change Your Life by Dr. Wayne Dyer

Wayne Dyer is a great motivational speaker and really taps into that Spirit for guidance and let his words flow on paper. I encourage you if you haven’t read his book that I quoted from above, please get it, check it out of a library and read it. It is a wonderful book that teaches you to be open minded.

Here is the 1st verse in the Tao Te Ching. It is something that I have wanted to do, sort of like a bible study but with the Tao instead. Just to dive into the meaning of life and see how simple it can be. We live in a world that is fast pace and technology is obsolete by the time we buy it and walk out the door. For me, this is going to be a way where I can stop, think, slow down, and reflect on my life. Where I came from, letting go, and where I want to be.

I am sure many of you reading this agrees and many disagree. That is okay, I encourage it. We all don’t think the same way but we all have to go through life the same way…one foot in front of the other.

This verse was very hard for me to understand when I heard it for the very first time. I swear I read and re-read it about a thousand times. Here it talks about being named and nameless. This world puts labels and names on everything, we have to live up to the social standard, and we must feel like we are in competition with each other to be better than everyone else no matter how you go about doing that. Seriously? Do we really have to listen to the world?

As the Bible states also, “Be in the world but not of this world.” It says it right there! Don’t listen to social media telling you who you need to be or how you have to label each other as beautiful, ugly, smart, stupid, etc. in order to excel in life…You need to be yourself and no one has to power to make you feel bad about yourself. Don’t name or label yourself as a stereotype, be nameless, have no label, accept yourself for who you are because you are the most important person in your life right now. (This is were I learned really to accept myself for how I am and if anybody had a problem with it, that’s their problem, not mine.)

Please share your thoughts about this, have you ever thought about it like this? What do you think? Have you read Wayne Dyer’s book? I want to hear from you and just ask that you respect others and their opinions with your responses. Like this post, share this post, comment on this post, it is totally up to you.

~Namaste

1st Verse Tao Te Ching

Leave a Reply

