13th Verse – Tao Te Ching

Favor and disgrace seem alarming.
High status greatly afflicts your person.

Why are favor and disgrace alarming?
Seeking favor is degrading:
alarming when it is gotten,
alarming when it is lost.

Why does high status greatly afflict your person?
The reason we have a lot of trouble is that we have selves.
If we had no selves, what trouble would we have?

Man’s true self is eternal, yet he thinks, I am this body and will soon die.
If we have no body, what calamities can we have?
One who sees himself as everything
is fit to be guardian of the world.
One who loves himself as everyone
is fit to be teacher of the world.

~ Change Your Thoughts, Change Your Life by Dr. Wayne Dyer

Reading this verse and Dr. Wayne Dyer’s thoughts on this verse, I could help but understand how important this is to us all. I have been a victim of this too. It’s all about seeking the favor of others or the acceptance of others. Doing things we probably wouldn’t normally do in order to be a part of their group.

Oh how I relate to this so much. I always thought that doing things for people was a way of acceptance of their favor, so they’d like me. I moved a lot when I was a kid so I thought that was the way to make new friends. But reading this again, it shouldn’t be about this at all. We need to stop doing things for people to make them like us and instead do things for ourselves so that people will see us for what we truly are.

How many of you have done things and wanted acceptance in return? I know I have and it’s not the way to live life. You need to be true to yourself. True friends who like you for you will be your best friends for life, not because of what you do!

Dr. Wayne Dyer suggest practicing this verse today and states that we should “work in living one day in complete harmony with your own nature, ignoring pressures to be otherwise.” Get back to yourself, meditate, take a walk in the forest, recognize God in everything we see, touch, smell, and so forth. Take your ego self out of the picture and look at it from your eternal self, God within…What will happen is a new perspective on your life and the life of others.

16

~ Namaste

3 thoughts on “13th Verse – Tao Te Ching

  1. I love your thoughts. I grew up thinking if I did things others’ way, they’d like me, accept me. A lifetime of habit is a hard thing to change. I hope to instill a bit more self confidence and self-acceptance to my grandkids. I, too, am turning it around, but like a rusty gate, it’s hard to open — and to close.

    Like

Leave a Reply

