My 2016 Word of the Year

New Years Eve has now come and gone. Spending time with family is now over until next time. However that gut feeling to have 2016 be my best year ever is still in the pit on my stomach. How is that going to happen? What do I have to do to make it happen? Who’s going to help me? Am I going to do this alone? Question upon question rose up in my mind and then I got an email. It was an email from Lara Casey that I have regularly received emails from. However this time it was different. I started reading it and there it was, 2016 Goal Setting Workshop. I really hadn’t thought about setting goals before this, I just wanted to think positive that 2016 was going to be my best year ever. Well, we all know that it takes more that just thinking positive. Here was an opportunity to really think and set some goals.

Death_to_stock_communicate_hands_5As I was reading more into her series I came across one of her links she had to Amazing Mess. There is an article about her choosing her one word challenge for 2016. I heard about this in the past and thought “Really? What kind of new trend is happening now…” But as I was reading her article, it struck me that it really isn’t a trend but more of a goal for your year to improve on this one word you give yourself. You share it, act on it, and revisit it at the end of the year to see your progress. After thinking about it, of course that would make sense. Plus, with everything that has happened in my life up to this point, I need a word to focus on and improve my lifestyle, personality, and habits. It’s always good to change it up once in a while. Doesn’t hurt anyone for you to improve yourself, it gives you more self confidence, love for life, and give something good back to the world. I have gone through all of the steps in Lara’s series and I must say, she is good. So intense, real, and truthful OMG!!!! You are convicted of the truth of yourself and with that you are able to set up realistic and achievable goals for the year.

Death_to_stock_communicate_hands_9WOW, I have never really done anything like that or really put any effort into something like that. So with that, I encourage you all to go to her blog and ready her 5 part series on 2016 Goal Setting. I know I probably have been rambling so forgive me of any english or grammar mistakes that I might have done. So my 2016 word of the year is WORK. Do you know how many words you come up with when you are given this challenge? Lots!!!! So praying about it, thinking about it, reading about it, I came up with it. I have a lot to work on this year in many areas of my life, some I will be posting updates here. Do you have a word that you are committing to this year? What is it? Am I the only one doing this? Maybe it’s a trend, maybe it’s just realistic goal. Whatever it is, it is going to help me with my best year ever, 2016.

8 thoughts on “My 2016 Word of the Year

  1. I first discovered the One Word thing at the end of 2014 and loved the idea. I picked ‘Decide’ as my word for 2015 since I felt that I had spent the previous year going round in circles and not being able to move forward in my life because of indecision. It turned out to be a bad choice for me. Every time I thought about it I just felt under pressure to get my act together and at the year end reflection it just caused me to feel that I had ‘failed’ the year. However, I still like the idea of a One Word theme for the year so this year I have picked a new word which I hope will lift me up rather than add to my stresses. My word for 2016 is ‘Breathe’. 🙂

    Like

  2. YES! I do believe in setting goals. My husband and I have a board that stick all our goals on for the year. WORK is a great one; it encapsulates a lot. Think we will do some introspection tonight, after visiting AmazingMess for more info. All the best! I believe that 2016 WILL BE your best yet!

    Like

Leave a Reply

