This is your life …

If you could read a book containing all that has happened and will ever happen in your life, would you? If you choose to read it, you must read it cover to cover!

Wow, good question. When my first reaction to this question was “No Way!”, I just chuckled. Then I stopped and thought and thought some more. My mind went to when I was a child and my actions and upbringing – which weren’t so bad, at least I don’t think so. But then there may be some parts I don’t want to re-live again, nothing bad, just embarrassing. Then there is adolescence, middle school, and high school years. Oh boy were those years hard for me…my family moved around a lot. I swear I went to at least 3 elementary schools, 2 middle schools, and 2 high schools all different ones! Making friends and keeping them was easy and hard for me. Yeah, I got the opportunity to travel to new cities and see a lot of places, but knowing where I came from and having friends from elementary school into high school was just not an option for me. Then moving onto college, had a great time meeting new people, again… only kept one friend from there. Then I met my husband through my mom’s friends (which is a hole other story in itself) and we have been married for 11 years now. Good and bad is in marriage, you have to really work at it with both parties. Which now takes me to the present time (without boring you with all the details). Bust what does the future hold? Will I be happy with it or sad or depressed? What’s going to happen? It’s like watching a dramatic movie for the first time – the beginning is OK, the middle gets interesting, and we all can’t wait to see the end of what happens. But this is life…do I really have to re-read it all over again? What would I think if I were old and gray living in a nursing home? It might make at that time some great entertainment but would I be happy  and pleased with myself or would I be disappointed by the actions I didn’t take while I could? Would I regret somethings that happened in my life? or would I be proud? Would I invite the world into my suffering and pain? or joy and happiness? I don’t know… At this time I think I would still have to say no I wouldn’t read it. There’s enough out there to read and reflect on. But maybe that’s how I should live my life? All of us should live our lives like that – as if we were all books we had to read from the beginning to the end with no exceptions. Who then would want to read us? Take a moment and reflect on that. Would you want to read the book about your life, cover to cover? Maybe yes, maybe no. Let me know in the comments below. Think about it.

2 thoughts on “This is your life …

  1. Great. You really got me thinking! Honestly, I’m not sure if I would want to read MY story cover to cover. But I am trying hard to make my life story as fulfilling as possible 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

