Worry Free Monday 1/18/16

Welcome back everyone! I hope you all had a great 3 day weekend like myself! I got to relax and prepared myself going outside as we were in another weekend of below zero temp’s. Sunday by far was the coldest with the high only -8 degrees, add the wind and it was about -30 to -40 below zero, burrr…

So last week my worries I had were:

  1. I am going to be so busy this week I won’t know what to do with life. (This was so far fetched I don’t even know what I was thinking. My mind went to that fear place so I realistically had nothing to worry about…) FALSE!
  2. What food am I going to buy to make it through the week…what recipes do I have with what food I have in my pantry, what do I need to get? (We managed to make anything that was in our fridge and pantry. You just go with what you have and if you need something and it was on sale at the store, we went and got it. You can only plan for so much since your taste of food changes in an instant, I rarely ever plan ahead since my taste and my husbands taste always change. Plus, since it is just the two of us, we are pretty flexible on what we make, as long as it is healthy most of the time :)) FALSE!
  3. Try not to worry about little things…what are the little things I don’t have to worry about? (In reality, there is nothing to worry or fear about. Everything happens in its own timing and most of the time we have control, but some of the time we don’t. We just need to plan as well as we can and what happens, happens. As my mother-in-law says, “This too shall pass.” And boy is she right!  I have been blessed with many things in my life and I have to truly appreciate that more and know that I will be and am already blessed now and in the future. It’s right there. We all are blessed right now. Be thankful. Take a moment, and silently say “Thank You” and mean it. If you take off all the negative and bad stuff what are you left with? Positive and good things. Be thankful.) FALSE!
  4. Will the car start in the morning like it didn’t this morning? (Well, it did and boy was I thankful. I was worried over nothing…can you believe that?) FALSE!

This week I don’t have too many worries as I am learning…I am sure I soon will have some more again later but not this week. So I want to share with you what worry is and share some articles that I found to be helpful. Take from it what you wish, but I found them as a little more eye opener. Strange how you go through life hearing about stuff but not taking it to heart until that certain time when your mind is open to receive it.

So what is worry? According to the dictionary it is:

  1. Give way to anxiety or unease; allow one’s mind to dwell on difficulty or troubles,
  2. A state of anxiety and uncertainty over actual or potential problems.

Well, in my opinion, your mind takes over and runs like wildfire. It is very much a human conditioning that happens and it’s only natural to worry but it can be a problem it you let it. It hides in our everyday thinking, our personalities, and can even ruin our own happiness. Jim Taylor, PhD wrote a great article in Psychology Today titled, “What, Me Worry? Why Worrying Does More Harm Than Good.”  In there he writes about how worrying is both good and bad as well as how we worry about the little things too much may cause us to miss worrying about the big things in life, which are the more important things.

Another article that I was reading gave some good steps on how to stop worrying, at least I think so. This article, “How to Stop Worrying: Self-Help Strategies for Anxiety Relief”, was written by Melinda Smith, M.A., Robert Segal, M.A., and Jeanne Segal, Ph.D. and was last updated January 2016. In there it gave 6 steps to try:

  1. Create a Worry Period
  2. Ask Yourself if the Problem is Solvable
  3. Accept Uncertainty
  4. Challenge Anxious Thoughts
  5. Be Aware of How Others Affect You
  6. Practice Mindfulness

Like I said, all very good tips to help stop worrying. Everyone is on a different path and we all have very different personalities. This is just to help those give insight to worrying. Ask yourself if you are worrying over little stuff like me and need to focus on the bigger picture, break down the walls of protection…

2 thoughts on “Worry Free Monday 1/18/16

Leave a Reply

